Appreciating Transience

The passion that has grown in me over the years, to be mindful in the everyday. This has not only swept over my philosophies of life and general attitude but has organically become my Major Project for art school.
My intention is create a work that is concerned with the transience of nature and how this transient nature can be fostered and lived by people.

This transience was beautifully described by Sigmund Freud with;

“Since the value of all this beauty and perfection is determined only by its significance for our own emotional lives, it has no need to survive us and is therefore independant of absolute duration”.

The exploration of nature’s transience can be sighted in the smallest of things from the life of a leaf to the stages and short lived beauty of a home grown tulip…. I like how Freud so perfectly manages to express that the joy is in the moment of appreciation and if you can absorb this, that is of most value.

IMG_4462[1]

Leave a comment